About Us


Chevron City to Surf for Activ

The first City to Surf was held on 23 February 1975, with 500 participants. In a strong show of support for equality, both men and women competed. While men have dominated the event in speed, there are now more women than men participating, as the event becomes more inclusive and community focused. The 12km course has remained essentially the same since the very beginning when it started from the Perth City Council Chambers to Jubilee Park, City Beach

It’s grown from the hero event in Perth, to a regional series in 2013 adding Albany, Busselton, Geraldton and Karratha, making it the most community-based fun run in Australia. No other event can claim the heritage or capture the spirit of a community like the Chevron City to Surf for Activ, the oldest and most loved community fun run in WA!


‘Fast’ Facts

•   The first City to Surf was won by Tim Walsh in 1975 in 38 mins 06 secs. Two years later he won again and beat his time by 2 secs.
•   WA distance runner Ray Boyd has won the 12km event 11 times, from 1984 to 2001.
•   The 12km record was set in 2006 by Brett Cartwright in 35 mins 25 secs, and it still stands today.
•   The first female 12km winner was Peta Carr in 1975 with a time of 58 mins 18 secs.
•   Lauren Shelley has won the women’s 12km five times from 2003 to 2011.
•   The Women’s 12km record was broken in 2017 by two-time Olympian Eloise Wellings.
•   Her time of 40 mins 14 secs, was just one second faster than the previous record set in 2010 by Lisa Weightman.
•   The half marathon was added in 2007 with 948 runners. It was won by Erwin McRae in 1:08:31 at an average pace of 3 mins 14 secs per km.
•   The marathon was added in 2009 with 862 runners. It was won by Joel Kemboi in 2:17:56 at an average pace of 3 mins 16 secs per km.